Testimonials

.

Read what some of our former students are saying about the firearms training that they received from Proactive Shooters…
.
News article regarding our Basic Firearms Safety class from the news website, Old Virginia News (July, 2009) – – – http://news.oldva.org/?p=1298

.
A former student’s detailed review of our Utah Concealed Firearm Permit class (August, 2010) – – – http://journal.drfaulken.com/proactive-shooters-utah-out-of-state-concealed-carry-course-review/

.
.

Some of our former and current competitors had this to say…..
.

If you’d like to find a quality (Utah permit) course that’s taught at a location much closer to you, we’d suggest that you get in touch with James Reynolds at Proactive Shooters, LLC in Henrico. We have heard many wonderful things about James’ qualifications as a firearms instructor, so we can recommend him without hesitation. He doesn’t cut corners, either — his (Utah) course is 6 hours long.“———Deborah Jane Anderson, Certified Firearms Instructor, Discover Shooting Firearms Training, Fairfax, Va.
.
I’m happy to be able to direct you to another teaching organization with the proper skills and experience to provide you with a high quality firearms training class. That organization is Proactive Shooters. Proactive Shooters is a solid, reliable training organization with a proven track record. Their founder, Mr. Jim Reynolds, has the essential law enforcement and protection background to competently answer your questions and advise you on matters of personal security, sadly lacking in most other area instructors. He has a convenient schedule of courses in the Richmond area, and is a true gentleman as well. I have no business connection with Proactive Shooters or Jim Reynolds whatsoever, in fact, we were respectful competitors in the Richmond market. This is just where I would send a close friend or family member who needed instruction at this time.“——-Tom Crawford, Owner of the Personal Protection Institute, Richmond, Va.

.
.

and our students have said…..
.
“….the best class I have taken regarding firearm training (that) I have taken to date”——Student from our Utah Permit class, February, 2016 (Received via email)

.

….The training materials were comprehensive and effective. The class represented a wide range of shooting experience, from the seasoned owner (e.g. been shootin’ all my life) to those new to firearms. Jim did an excellent job in teaching the material at the correct level, not talking down to new shooters while doing a good job of keeping the seasoned folks engaged, suppressing what easily could have been a “Been There – Done That – Give Me My Cert” climate. He answered all questions professionally and respectfully, esp. the ones that distract from the class to chase down somebody’s personal rabbit hole. It’s clear that Jim has the heart of a teacher and cares about presenting the material well.

Instructions on filling out the Utah form were made very clear. I was also pleased that Jim mentioned some second order effects of the VA AG Reciprocity Appeal (i.e. No SC reciprocity at all, FL out-of-state requires a live fire component).

The class runs for 6 hours, which may seem a little long for some. However, for the money spent, it’s time well invested. Looking forward to linking up again with Proactive Shooters to complete the FL Live Fire demonstration.

I contrast this experience with my instruction getting my VA license. Admittedly, I went to one of those gun show classes – overpriced, with a condescending instructor. Knowing what I know now, I would have driven the 90 minutes and taken a class with Proactive Shooters. I highly recommend taking this course, if you have the ability to do so.”——- Student from our Utah permit class, January, 2016 (Posted on the Virginia Gun Owners Forum).

.

“I am a retired Police Officer. I have sat through 20 years of “Gun Safety Courses”. I went to accompany my wife who expressed an interest in getting her Concealed Handgun Permit. I was impressed with Jim’s delivery, knowledge,his ability to articulate his knowledge to people who may not have had experience with this subject matter. I was impressed and am very glad to recommend Proactive Shooters to my friends in the future.”—–Student from our  Basic Firearms Safety class, January, 2015 (Received via Groupon feedback).

.

Completed the Range Safety Officer class today with Jim. Awesome instructor, very informative class and all around a great experience. If I don’t start getting sleepy in a class, you must be doing something right! I learned many aspects of safety, planning, communication and teaching that I will certainly carry forward to assist others. Looking forward to the next certification endeavor and hopefully a little volunteer work to assist others as well as hone my own skills as an RSO. Many Kudos to Proactive Shooters!!————Student from our December, 2014 NRA Range Safety Officer class (Review posted on our Facebook page)

.

“Thank you for an excellent day of skills training and extra pointers”——–Student from our Defensive Handgun I class, December, 2014 (Received via email)

.

Regarding the class and instructor……….This is a very comfortable and well presented class with a manual that you can follow along the lecture with. Instructors also give examples and stories of gun handling and shooting incidences not in manual, but enhance your understanding and emphasis on the need for gun handling, SAFETY and the consequence if you do not follow safety recommendations”———–Student from our Basic Firearms Safety class, September, 2014 (Received via Groupon feedback)

.

“Shout out to Jim Reynolds of Proactive Shooters for an awesome class. Learned a lot of awesome information involving gun safety.”——Student from our Basic Firearms Safety class, July 20, 2014 (Posted on Facebook)

.

Yesterday was so beautiful. It was a great day of shooting. I learned so much from our class with James Reynolds. I highly recommend Proactive Shooters, LLC Firearms Safety Training & Instruction for anyone looking to improve your skills“——Student from our Defensive Handgun I class, May 17, 2014 (Posted on Facebook)
.
I’ve taken two classes with Jim and recommend him highly“—– Comment posted by a former student on MDShooters.com, February 27, 2014.

.
I took Defensive Handgun 1 & 2 back in September. Best class I ever took! —– Student from our Defensive Handgun I & II classes, September, 2013. (Received via email)

.
Thanks for the Basic Firearms class. Although I’m pretty knowledgeable with weapons prior to the class from being in the military, it was nice to have that additional information, and in depth awareness of how important possession of a firearm is, and what to be aware of on a civilian forum. I’ll definitely be recommending you to other folks that are interested in that type of class. Again, I appreciate everything“.—–Student from our Basic Firearms Safety class, July 14, 2013 (Received via email).
.
I wanted to thank you for coordinating a fantastic day at your training facility this past weekend. The emphasis on real-world based training was incredibly valuable. Akin to some of the advanced Emergency Medicine training I’ve received in the past; the frequency with which these skills may be called upon can be low, however the critical role these skills play in survival cannot be disputed. I’m looking forward to attending the second course in the series this fall.“——–Student from our Defensive Handgun I class, June 23, 2013 (received via email)
.
I needed the Utah permit because Virginia doesn’t have reciprocity with Georgia, I took the class with James Reynolds at Proactive Shooters, It was a very good class, not boring at all“——-Comment posted by a former student on MDShooters.com, June 13, 2013.
.
I want to thank you for hosting a very informative and comprehensive shooting course last weekend, Defensive Handgun I. I have been shooting since 1986 and have been a Police Officer for 25 years. I enjoyed your teaching style which was relaxed but safe and found the material covered was advanced but manageable for all levels of prior training. As a Police Officer with a department of about 500 sworn officers, I qualify annually day and night shooting but am not given any additional training. In the one day I spent with you, I was exposed to very practical material such as shooting on the move, prone position, arms length distance shooting, weak hand shooting and even a change in my stance from modified weaver to isosceles with an improvement on my grip. You also made the class very comfortable with supplying chairs on the range to sit on and your safety neck lanyards demonstrates your advance thinking about safety. I look forward to training again with you in the future.” – – – – Student (a North Carolina Police Officer) from our April 20, 2013 Defensive Handgun I class, received via U.S. Mail.
.
I just wanted to say thank you for an amazing class yesterday. I learned SO much from the basics of shooting and weapons/ammo to feeling more comfortable & confident with my gun. I feel as if a weight was lifted off my shoulders and I am ready to apply for my Concealed Weapons Permit with no fear! 🙂 I cannot wait to come back and take more classes with you guys. I will DEFINITELY be recommending you in the future!!!!!!“—-Student from our “Ladies only” NRA Basic Pistol Shooting class, April 6, 2013 (Received via email).
.
I went into my firearms safety class not expecting to learn much. Boy was I wrong! Jim is a great guy and very knowledgeable!! If you want good training/knowledge I highly recommend Proactive. I look forward to future classes!” —-Student from our Basic Firearms Safety class, February, 2013 (Posted on VaGunTrader.com)
.
Ladies, If you are serious about learning how to defend yourself with confidence, this is the place to go. I had an OUTSTANDING one on one lesson with Jim today. The lady who walked out of the range was not the lady who walked in. I plan to continue training with Jim and Proactive Shooters. I’m sold.” —-Student who completed a private shooting lesson with us, February 8, 2013 (Received via Facebook)
.
Attended the NRA Basic Pistol course on Feb. 2 (2013)…excellent instructors. Thanks, guys” —-Student from NRA Basic Pistol Shooting class, February 2, 2013 (Received via Facebook)

.
Great course! I will be attending others that you offer!“—–Student from our NRA Basic Pistol Shooting class, November 11, 2012 (Received via NRA course evaluation form)

.
Instructor did a great job and was well educated. Answered any question anyone had with ease.“—– Student from our Basic Firearms Safety class, November 4, 2012 (Received via LivingSocial.com)
.
Knowledgeable, dynamic instructor. Informative and enjoyable.” —— Student from our Basic Firearms Safety class, September 9, 2012 (Received via LivingSocial.com)
.
I attended this class in June and I have to say it was not only a great learning experience, it was a ton of fun as well. It was very well thought out and the instruction was geared toward each shooters level of expertise. Target recognition and shooting while moving were my favorite parts of the exercises.“——Student from our June, 2012 Defensive Handgun I class. (Posted on MDShooters.com)
.
Thank you again for the wonderful safety class on Friday evening. My wife and I learned a lot, more even than we’d hoped or expected (and we had high hopes). My wife was particularly pleased that you did such a lovely job of de-mythologizing handguns by the way of a straightforward nuts-and-bolts discussion of how they operate, how and why dangerous situations arise, and–most importantly–how to avoid them.“——Student from our Basic Firearms Safety class, June 15, 2012 (received by email).

.
In a nut-shell, I liked it very much. I recommend the class. There was a stronger focus on close-up work than the average class. In my eyes this is very important because (as we all know) the vast majority of self-defense shootings are at extremely close distance. There was also a good recap/intro on getting off the X and firing while moving. The class was highly structured, X number of rounds shot in this order. There were two instructors, so the ratio of students to instructors was 2 to 1, the worst ratio you would get would be 5 to 1 due to class size limitations. Normally I would have complained that the class was too structured (normally I would have wanted to run a few of the drills again), but by the end of the day I was pretty tired and ready to get rolling. In conclusion, in one day, and 400 rounds, my distance shooting improved greatly, and my draw became much faster and smoother (instructors tweeked my form in a very positive way that had immediate results.) This class will let you find you training scars, and help you to start fixing them.“——Student from our May, 2012 Defensive Handgun I class (posted on MDShooters.com)
.
This was a great class! Highly informative and taught all safety aspects. Enjoyed every bit.“——-Student from our NRA Basic Pistol Shooting class, March, 2012. (Posted on facebook.com)
.
Just completed a 7 hour defensive handgun training class from Jim Reynolds of Proactive Shooters near Richmond, VA Great job! Experience in the class ranged from a veteran police officer to a student never having live fired after drawing from a holster. Jim made the class safe and informative for all.“——–Student from our Defensive Handgun I class, December, 2011 (posted on XDTalk.com)

.
The class was excellent. A good range of handgun drills, shooting positions and movements were covered. Everything was performed in a safe manner, all shooters displayed knowledge of safety and shooting techniques. It seemed like all students had a great time, and learned things that they do well and things they need to work on in their own shooting. All in all I would definitely recommend this class/instructor, Jim is very good at what he does. I’m definitely looking forward to taking his Handgun II course.“——-Student from our Defensive Handgun I class, October, 2011. (posted on MDShooters.com)
.

I took the Safety and Concealed Weapons Permit classes this past September 17 and 18, 2011 in Ashland, Virginia. Just wanted to thank Instructor Jim Reynolds for doing a great job. The classes were very informative and gave me a lot of information that was helpful.“———J.A., Glen Allen, Va. (received via email, 9/19/11)

.

James was a highly recommended instructor for Proactive Shooters. We would recommend him as well as Proactive Shooters in the future. He was very knowledgeable, thorough and honest. He was very safety conscious when it came to covering the entire curriculum. If James did not have the answers, he directed us to the correct institutions to find the answers we needed. He kept the entire class motivated and engaged in all aspects and repercussions of handgun safety. We look forward to the next level of classes he offers.” ————-M.W., Sterling, Va. (Recommendation posted on LinkedIn.com, 8/5/11).
.

I attended your Basic Firearms Safety class in Chantilly this past Saturday (7/30/11). I just wanted let you know as well that our instructor did a great job at explaining the material and giving real life examples. He did a great job of keeping things interesting for both the experienced and new gun owners/shooters in the class. I especially appreciated his demos of some of the procedures and situations that we may encounter in real life. Keep up the great work!“————-A.J., Washington, D.C.
.

Completed your private shooting lesson this morning for my Florida concealed carry permit and once again, I am impressed on what you were able to pass on to me. I never gave it a thought to shoot left handed, never attempted to, yet with your knowledge and tips, I was able to use my left hand with better accuracy than I thought I would. Believe me, from this date forward, I will practice shooting with my left hand each time I go to the range. Again, many thanks for the training you provided, and look forward to attending more of your classes“——-G.D., Frederick, Maryland. (6/18/2011)
.

Highly knowledgeable instructor, able to answer any and all questions with the breadth and depth that one would expect of a firearms instructor with 13 plus years of law enforcement experience. I would love to get some coaching from this instructor at the firing range, using my firearm“. —–R.E., Alexandria, Va. (comments written in a Utah BCI course survey, 6/1/2011)
.

Proactive Shooters is where we took our CHP class and it was awesome! As soon as we can we are looking forward to taking a few more from you!”—–Christie, Chesterfield, Va (Posted on the Virginia Gun Owners Forum, 5/19/2011)
.

I loved the class (Utah permit class – March, 2011). I will complete the (Utah course) survey with very positive feedback. Jim was awesome. He is very knowledgeable and kept the class engaged…..I hope to take a live fire class with your organization soon.“—- N.S., Richmond, Va.
.

I took your Basic Firearms Safety class today (Saturday, Oct.2, 2010 – Nation’s Gun Show, Chantilly, Va.). Thank you for your time/training today — the class was outstanding.” —- Robert, Herndon, Va.
.

I had a (private shooting) lesson on 8-28-10 at Dominion Range with Don DeBusk. He was a wonderful instructor and was great to learn from. I will highly recommend him to others“——–S.M. Richmond, Va.
.

Thank you for a class well delivered. I attended the Utah Concealed Carry Course on June 26, 2010 at Smithfield (Rhode Island) Sportsman Club, where I am a member. I want to thank Jim Reynolds for his professionalism and knowledge. The course was well run and had a consistent flow throughout the day, presenting and explaining the material. Jim definitely has a way of getting the point across and instilling the respect one needs to handle situations and the responsibility of carrying a weapon. It was an enjoyable day for me and the others. My thanks to Proactive Shooters and Jim.“——–J.M., Warwick, Rhode Island

.

I participated in the first Utah Concealed Carry Course yesterday (June 19, 2010) though Proactive Shooters at Bass Pro Shops in Hampton, Va. Foremost, I would like to extend my appreciation to Proactive Shooters for bringing their Richmond Bass Pro class down to the Hampton Roads area. I want to say thank you to Jim Reynolds for the knowledge and level of professionalism he provided. The instructor was very personable and definitely on top of his profession. The instruction was concise and clear and the exercises were relevant to real world situations one may encounter. With Jim’s importance on real world situations and schooling and his techniques to overcome the odds, this course offers the new, inexperienced, handgun owner the chance to practice techniques that may save their life. I have always said it is better to have it and not need it than to need it and not have it, the same can be said for proper training and practice methods. It was most importantly fun, enjoyable and a great learning experience. Anyone with a Virginia Permit (Combined with Utah 33 States) or even without one (Just Utah 29 States) should look into this course. Hope to see them return to Bass Pro month after month.“——-Josh, Newport News, Va.

 .

Just wanted to say thanks for hosting the Utah CCW course in Annapolis this weekend (May 9, 2009). The instructor, Jim Reynolds was an excellent instructor and a true professional. I recently retired after 22 years of Active Duty acquiring and/or using weapons for the Military and I can say that Jim is among the best instructors I’ve encountered. Handling a class of 50+ from all walks of life and experience is not an easy task. Jim handled the class with tact and precision. Keep him instructing – I’m sending my friends to this course…..Thanks again.“——-P.F., Silver Spring, Md.

.
I want to thank you again for your advice & helping me choose a more suitable concealed handgun. My husband & I went to the Showmasters Gun Show last Saturday at RIR. I did what you suggested and picked up, held, observed and checked out numerous semi-autos… The Bersa Thunder 380 fit my hand perfectly…and we found one for $319.99 plus tax. I am thrilled! I got familiar with it when I got home and comfortable enough to load it and did a little target practice. I hit the target 13 out of 15 times from about 20 feet. I want to tell you again how much I enjoyed your Basic Handgun Safety class on November 8 (2009). If you will recall, November 8 was a beautiful, sunny Sunday. I initially was not looking forward to spending most of the day indoors…but your enthusiasm, knowledge, training skills and ability to engage your audience made the day fly by! Although I took a basic handgun safety course in 1996, I am glad I attended your class. Proactive Shooters left a positive, lasting impression and I will be sure to recommend your organization to friends, family and other gun enthusiasts who want to exercise their right to keep and bear arms.”——-Sue K-G, Richmond, Va.

.

Took the (Basic Firearms) safety class yesterday and thought it was excellent“————–A.G, Richmond, Va.

.

Outstanding class. Good gun safety information. Really nice program. Out of all the instructors I checked into in the Richmond area, these guys are the tops! The best at what they do. ——–Kevin B., Midlothian, Va. (from www.superpages.com)
.
Just took your Basic Firearms Safety class – I am emailing you to let you know that the class was great! I recently took it on Saturday and the instructor was great. I thought I knew quite a lot coming in to that class but having his insight and experience really made me learn a lot more. He had a wealth of information that he was willing to share and made class fun too. I’ll be recommending your class to my friends. Thanks!” —— Alex, Annandale, Va.
.
I wanted you to know I really enjoyed the class. Your presentation was excellent; informative and entertaining”—————J.F., Richmond, Va.

.

I really like your program and what you’re doing with it. Great concept, wonderful application, and so much more!”————Adrian, Richmond, Va.

.

I live in Virginia Beach and was in Richmond on business. I quite literally stumbled on your concealed carry class while surfing the internet. Thank you for getting me into the class on such short notice. I was very impressed with the material presented“. ———-Rich, Virginia Beach, Va.

.

I really thought that you did a great job with the class!” ———-Ron, Pennsylvania

.

I learned a lot more than I thought I was going to“————Michael, Richmond, Va.

.

Really great class!“—————-Joe, Chester, Va.

.

I know alot about guns already and I still feel that I learned a few things tonight.“———–Robert, Chesterfield, Va.

.

Great class today. I did in fact learn a bunch of important gun handling practices. Very informative. (The instructor) did a hell of a good job with this material.”———–C.S., Richmond, Va.

.

.

Testimonialspic2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© 2009 - 2011 Proactive Shooters