Basic Firearms Safety course

 

The Code of Virginia requires that an applicant for a Virginia Concealed Handgun permit demonstrates competence by taking a firearms safety class. This introductory level course satisfies that requirement.

.

 

Our Basic Firearms Safety course is a 5 hour classroom lecture. Virginia does not require a “live fire” demonstration in order to apply for a concealed handgun permit. The lecture style course is taught by one of our certified NRA firearms instructors and a student manual is provided. You will receive a certificate at the end of the class which will allow you to apply for your Virginia concealed handgun permit.

.

Juveniles (under age 18) are welcome in this class when accompanied by an adult registered student (parent or legal guardian). Please contact us for more details if you have a question about this.

.


The cost of this class is $69.00 and topics include:

.

  • – Revolver and Semi-Automatic handgun nomenclature

  • – Ammunition nomenclature and function

  • – The basic rules of firearms safety

  • – Safe storage options for firearms in the home

  • – Firearms and your children

  • – The causes of firearm related accidents

  • – Proper safe handling of semi-auto pistol malfunctions, and other topics

.

Please note: for those students interested in applying for a Florida non-resident carry permit:

.

Students wishing to use this Basic Firearms Safety course to apply for a Florida non-resident permit may do so to satisfy the classroom portion of training. Florida law requires that a student also demonstrate “safe handling and discharge of the firearm” under the observation of a firearms instructor. This requires an additional live fire training session and that is conducted by appointment only. Please contact us for further details.

© 2009 - 2011 Proactive Shooters